Aug 30, 2019 | Foundation

Columbia State Welcomes New Foundation Board Members

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. – Aug. 30, 2019) - - - The Columbia State Community College Foundation is pleased to announce Lee Maddox and Mike Keny as new Foundation board members.

Maddox, a Columbia resident, has a wealth of experience in communications and leadership in the Middle Tennessee region. He is the director of the communications division for the Tennessee Farm Bureau Federation, serves as the assistant editor of the Tennessee Farm Bureau News, produces Farm Bureau’s “Voices of Agriculture” and “Tennessee Home and Farm Radio.” 

In addition, Maddox produces a number of specialty videos for Farm Bureau and other agriculture organizations as he works to promote agriculture with local and national media outlets on behalf of Tennessee farmers. He is affiliated with a number of civic and professional organizations including Leadership Maury, Farm and Forest Families of Tennessee, the National Association of Farm Broadcasters and is a past advisory board member of the Better Business Bureau of Middle Tennessee.

Keny, a Lewisburg resident, is the Marshall County mayor. Keny worked at H & S Pharmacy in Lewisburg as a pharmacist for 33 years, and as partner for 25 years. He has been an active member of several community organizations including the Lewisburg Rotary Club, Association of County Mayors, J.R. Moon Golf Classic Committee, Marshall County Education Foundation, Marshall County Chamber of Commerce and was the play-by-play voice for Marshall County High School athletics on WJJM. Keny is a proud Columbia State alumnus and played on the tennis team.

“I credit Columbia State so much for the opportunities and successes that I’ve enjoyed in my life,” Keny said. “And so thankful for Dr. B.I. Naddy, retired Columbia State professor of chemistry.”

Darlene Baxter, Foundation board chair, recently welcomed the new members at an orientation luncheon for new board members.

“The Foundation is important to the success of Columbia State, and these members will bring each of their individual talents to the collective work of the board,” Baxter said.

Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State president, emphasized that “the partnership between the Foundation and the College is a bridge for building connections with individuals and organizations across our nine-county service area.”

Columbia State Foundation board members serve three-year terms and represent leaders from across the nine-county service area. The Foundation’s mission is to support and partner with Columbia State to positively impact our communities and student success through the maintenance and enhancement of resources. This is achieved by excellence in relationship building, fundraising and investment management. 

Photo Caption:
Lee Maddox

Photo Caption: 
Mike Keny