Jul 11, 2019 | Foundation

J.R. Moon Golf Classic Committee Presented with 2019 Chancellor’s Award

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. – July 11, 2019) - - -The J.R. Moon Golf Classic Committee was recently presented the 2019 Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropy.  

In 1996, the committee was called together and challenged to create an event that would benefit Columbia State Community College and students. They accepted the challenge and created the J.R. Moon Golf Classic. Now in its 23rdyear, the tournament and the committee have raised more than $418,000, and provided important scholarships for Marshall County students and support for the Lewisburg Campus.

“For 23 years this committee has created a lasting impact that has changed the lives of Marshall County citizens,” said Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State president. “Over the decades, the members of this committee have remained the same and have steadfastly worked together to demonstrate their loyalty to this event and to provide support of students past, current and future.” 

The J.R. Moon Golf Classic was named after James R. Moon, a local businessman, entrepreneur and community member, who dedicated a lifetime of service to Marshall County. Members of the committee include: Bobby Beech, Herb Bivens, Troy Cross, Cathie Davidson, Kirk Kelso, Mike Keny, Matt Lewis, Pam Thomason, Terry Wallace, Barry White, Eddie Wiles, Race Wilson and Will Wilson.

“We were delighted to have the Tennessee Board of Regents and Chancellor Tydings recognize the committee with the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropy,” said Bethany Lay, Columbia State vice president of advancement and executive director of the Columbia State Foundation. “They were amazed that the majority of the committee members had been working together on the tournament for 23 years. Their work for the community is very deserving of this recognition.”

Through tireless service, the committee has demonstrated their passion for Marshall County through organizing the tournament, recruiting sponsors, teams and donors, as well as contributing personal donations in funds and service. 

Each year the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropy is given to an individual or organization that has provided assistance to at least one TBR institution. Recipients have proven philanthropic work in regards to the generous giving of resources (money, in kind, time, service) and volunteer efforts in raising money for the institution or expanding business/employer collaboration for the institution. To learn more about the Chancellor’s Award, or the TBR, visit www.tbr.edu

JR Moon Golf Committee

Photo Caption: (Pictured, left to right):Eddie Wiles, Barry White, Pam Thomason, Matt Lewis, Cris Perkins (TBR Assistant Vice Chancellor for Strategic Advancement), Cathie Davidson, Bobby Beech, Race Wilson and Terry Wallace. Not pictured: Herb Bivens, Troy Cross, Kirk Kelso, Mike Keny and Will Wilson.