May 24, 2019 | Student Success

Columbia State Recognizes TRiO Graduates

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. – May 24, 2019) - - -Columbia State Community College recently recognized participants in the TRiO program at the ninth annual TRiO Student Awards Celebration in two ceremonies April 25 at the Brass Lantern Restaurant and May 2 at Southern Tré Steakhouse.

“My sincerest congratulations to all of our students for their outstanding achievement,” said Yaritza Castro-Gotay, Columbia State TRiO director. “Many are the first to graduate from their families. We want to thank our students for being part of TRiO during these years, as well as praising their parents/guardians for the support they gave them during these years. Well done!”

Students accepted into the TRiO program receive academic coaching, assistance with career exploration, tutoring services, registration assistance, student success seminars and workshops, and cultural and social engagement events designed specifically for them and a multitude of other services.

Columbia State currently serves144students in the TRiO program.

TRiO Student Support Services is a federally funded program designed to provide academic support, transfer assistance and personal development programming for underrepresented students who need added support to meet the challenges of higher education. Through the development of academic and personal skills, the program focuses on increasing student retention and promoting degree completion.

Photo Caption: 
(Pictured, left to right): Columbia TRiO graduates. Ranae Greenlees, Columbia State academic coordinator; Breonna Esmon, Spring Hill resident; Yaritza Castro-Gotay, Columbia State TRiO Student Support Services director; Jaleigha Scribner, Columbia resident; and Christian Jones, Columbia State academic coach.

Photo Caption: 
(Pictured, left to right):Lawrence TRiO graduates. Caylee Prentice, Summertown resident; Stephanie Wassenaar,Lawrenceburg resident;Allie Gable, Iron Cityresident; Katlin Willis, Westpointresident; Hayley Hendrix, Leoma resident; Jacob Rose, Leoma resident; Hannah Rohling, Leoma resident; and David Steadman, Loretto resident.