May 10, 2019 | Student Success , Health Sciences

Columbia State Vet Tech Pins 17 Graduates

Photo Caption: 
(Sitting, left to right): Joslyn Kerigan,Anngela Miller, Eva Beathard, Katlin Willis, Suzanne McMullan, Emily Burcham, Kayla Paschall and Jordan Hansel. (Standing, left to right): Bailey Gilliam, Grace Bledsoe, Natalie Walton, Shelbie Cheek, Winter Hansen, Izora Smith, Mary Kathryn and Anna Neal.

Columbia StateCommunity College honored17 veterinary technology program graduates in a pinning ceremony April 27.

“Columbia State’s vet tech program maintains rigorous standards for technician education and veterinary care,” said Dr. Kae Fleming, dean of the Health Sciences Division and professor of radiologic technology. “Veterinary facilities across the region provide clinical experiences for students and are quick to employ graduates. The vet tech program offers students a unique opportunity to combine passion and vocation for exciting and rewarding careers.”

A veterinary technician primarily functions as professional technical support to veterinarians, biomedical researchers and other scientists. Qualified veterinary technicians are responsible for clinical pathology, radiology, surgical assisting, office and hospital management and other related duties.

“I am proud of the Columbia State vet tech program students,” said Dr. Madonna Higgins, Columbia State program director and assistant professor of veterinary technology. “The graduates have a lot to offer the veterinary community, and I’m excited for them to enter the workforce.”

Columbia State has one of only five vet tech programs in the state of Tennessee. This program is accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association and offers students the opportunity to become a veterinary technician and receive an Associate of Applied Science degree. For additional information, visit 

Photo Caption: Bedford County: 
Joslyn Kerigan

Photo Caption: Coffee County: 
Bailey Gilliam

Photo Caption: Giles County: 
Grace Bledsoe 

Photo Caption: Lawrence County: 
Katlin Willis and Shelbie Cheek.

Photo Caption: Maury County: 
Suzanne McMullan, Winter Hansen, Kayla Paschall and Emily Burcham. Not pictured: Christine Mucciolo.

Photo Caption: Rutherford County: 
Izora Smith and Anna Neal.

Photo Caption: Williamson County: 
Eva Beathard, Anngela Miller,Natalie Walton, Mary Kathryn and Jordan Hansel.