Mar 16, 2018

Columbia State 10th Annual Lungs of Steel Raises Money for Cystic Fibrosis Patient and Students

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - March 16, 2018) - - - Forty-five runners and walkers of all ages participated in the Columbia State Community College Respiratory Care Club's 10th Annual Lungs of Steel 5k event March 10 at Maury County Park.

Robert Archibald, Maury County resident and captain of the Mule Town Milers, came in first place; Brian Kaufmann, Williamson resident, came in second place; and Eric Borchert, Maury County resident, came in third.

"I want to thank everyone who came out and helped us put on this 5k," said Jamie Fanning, Columbia State Respiratory Care student. "To the runners and family members that came out to support us also, it means a great deal."

As a part of their training, Respiratory Care students are expected to attend the annual state Respiratory Care convention - a portion of the proceeds from the 5k help the students pay for convention costs. The convention gives the students a broader sense of the profession, and they have the opportunity to hear nationally renowned speakers and make employment contacts.

This year's race was dedicated as "Miles for Maddie." A portion of the proceeds will be donated to benefit Maddie Wright, a 9-year-old Cystic Fibrosis patient.

"The last several years students have donated a portion of the funds raised to other causes," said R. David Johnson, program director and associate professor of respiratory care at Columbia State. "For the last two years, they have donated to the family of a child with cystic fibrosis. Cystic fibrosis is a genetic disease that has devastating effects on the lungs requiring repeated hospitalizations and multiple breathing therapies each day."

"I want to thank Maddie and her mom, Leanne," Fanning said. "Even though they couldn't make it, they were with us."

Robert Archibald
Photo Caption:
Robert Archibald finishes first at the "Miles for Maddie" 5k run/walk.

10th annual lungs of steel winners
Photo Caption: (Pictured, left to right):
2nd place winner, Brian Kaufmann; 1st place winner, Robert Archibald; and 3rd place winner Eric Borchert.