May 11, 2017

Columbia State Vet Tech Pins 26 Graduates

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - May 11, 2017) - - - Columbia State Community College honored 26 veterinary technology program graduates in a pinning ceremony May 2.

"This rigorous program meets the growing demands of the professional community for highly-competent, entry-level technicians to assist veterinarians in providing quality care for clients," said Dr. Kae Fleming, dean of the Health Sciences Division and professor of radiologic technology. "The Vet Tech program at Columbia State offers students a unique opportunity to combine passion and vocation in preparation for rewarding careers."

A veterinary technician primarily functions as professional technical support to veterinarians, biomedical researchers and other scientists. Qualified veterinary technicians are responsible for clinical pathology, radiology, surgical assisting, office and hospital management and other related duties.

Columbia State has one of only five vet tech programs in the state of Tennessee. This program is accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association and offers students the opportunity to become a veterinary technician and receive an Associate of Applied Science degree. For additional information, visit

2017 vet tech
Photo Caption:
(Front row, left to right) Amber Ingram, Laura Pierce, Ricky Watkins, Cynthia Riddley, Bailey Frazier, Lexi Meyer, Kristina Presbitero, Hannah Luna and Emily Bain (Back row, left to right): Alexis Wright, Logan Whaley, Kelsey Allen, Christina Gaskins, Brandie Miller, Jessica Stacy, Mandy Smithson, Amber Pilkinton, Ashley Rainey, Amy Dillon, Amy Aldrich, Valeria Young, Alexa Anderson, Heather Patton, Catherine Harris, Madi Nichols and Monica Arroyol.

Vtech Williamson
Photo Caption: Williamson County:
Alexa Anderson, Kelsey Allen and Ashley Rainey.

Maury County
Photo Caption: Maury County:
Amber Ingram, Logan Whaley, Mandy Smithson, Amber Pilkinton and Heather Patton.

Rutherford County
Photo Caption: Rutherford County:
Amy Dillon, Madi Nichols, Kristina Presbitero Catherine Harris and Lexi Meyer.

Rutherford contd
Photo Caption: Rutherford County:
Bailey Frazier.

Perry County
Photo Caption: Perry County:
Richard Watkins.

Photo Caption: Lincoln County:
Laura Pierce.

Photo Caption: Lewis County:
Jessica Stacy.

Photo Caption: Lawrence County:
Valeria Young and Hannah Luna.

Houston County
Photo Caption: Houston County:
Monica Arroyol.

Photo Caption: Hickman County:
Amy Aldrich.

Photo Caption: Warren County:
Emily Bain.

Photo Caption: Dickson County:
Christina Gaskins and Brandie Miller.

Photo Caption: Marshall County:
Cynthia Riddley and Alexis Wright.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit

Tennessee's Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at

# # #