Apr 13, 2017

Columbia State Names 2017 All-TN Academic Team Students

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - April 12, 2017) - - - Columbia State Community College recently named two sophomore students, Destiny Seaton and Katherine Brisendine, to the 2017 All-Tennessee Academic Team.

Seaton and Brisendine are two of 26 community college students selected statewide for the 2017 All-Tennessee Academic Team. Those selected are pursuing a variety of degrees and careers - most plan on continuing their education at a four-year university.

Seaton, a Maury County Native, serves as a senator in the Columbia State Student Government Association, is a member of the President's Leadership Society, serves on the Campus Tree Advisory Committee, works as an on-campus tutor and is a volunteer in the community. Seaton plans on continuing her education to earn a master's degree in mass communication and environmental sciences.

Brisendine, a Hickman County Native, is a Columbia State peer leader, vice president of scholarship for the Beta Kappa Theta chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Tennessee Promise mentor and is a member of PLS. She plans on continuing her education at Middle Tennessee State University to earn a master's degree in social work. Brisendine wants to help victims of human trafficking following her academic career.

"I've had the pleasure of getting to know both of these students as the chapter adviser for PTK," said Mandy Carter-Lowe, Columbia State associate professor of biology. "Not only have they demonstrated outstanding academic performance in the classroom, but they have become leaders on campus and in their communities."

The All-Tennessee Academic Team is comprised of students nominated by their colleges to be considered for the All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by USA Today, Follett Higher Education Group and PTK. Each of the state's 13 community colleges selects two students to recognize for their academic achievement, leadership and service to the community.

PTK is the premier honor society to recognize the academic achievement of community college students to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.2 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.

All TN academic team students
Photo Caption:
Michael Curcio, Tennessee State Rep for District 69, Destiny Seaton, Katherine Brisendine and Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State president.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit www.ColumbiaState.edu.

Tennessee's Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at tncommunitycolleges.org.

# # #