Nov 05, 2015

Pryor Art Gallery Welcomes "Ordinary People...Extraordinary Artists"

Art Exhibit Photo

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - Nov. 3, 2015) - - - The exhibit features local and nationally celebrated artists displaying a great range of styles and media from abstract expressionism to photo-realism. Artists include Anne Carothers, Margaret Dyer, Shirley Fachilla, AJ Holmes, Helli Luck, Edie Maney, Dawn Whitelaw and John Wilkison.

"It is our intent to actively engage our viewers in experiencing a work of art," said Michele Wilkinson, Pryor Art Gallery curator. "We have put idea bubbles over some of our beautiful works with a question or phrase for the viewer to record their own version of the back story of the painting."

Wilkinson said there is a lectern in the center of the room for anyone to write their version of the story. She invites everyone to come and be part of the experience and read what others have written.

The exhibit runs through Nov. 23. For detailed information related to the exhibit, please contact Wilkinson at 931.540.2883 or

The Pryor Art Gallery is in the Waymon L. Hickman Building on the Columbia Campus, located at 1665 Hampshire Pike. The gallery is open and free to the public Monday through Thursday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. and Friday from 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. Please visit for additional information.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit

Tennessee's Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at

# # #