Jul 02, 2015

Columbia State to Host Community Service Saturday

Aug. 1 Community Service Deadline Fast Approaching!

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - July 2, 2015) - - - Tennessee Promise recipients who have not completed their community service hours are invited to participate in Community Service Saturday at Columbia State Community College on July 11. The event will be held at each of Columbia State's five campuses and will connect students with volunteer opportunities happening in their local communities that day.

Students must report their hours to tnAchieves by midnight on Aug. 1, and that deadline is quickly approaching.

"In order for Tennessee Promise recipients to remain eligible for the scholarship, they must complete eight hours of community service," said Dr. Margaret D. Smith, executive vice president and provost for academic and student programs and services. "This is a great opportunity for these students to take advantage of several volunteer opportunities to fulfill that requirement."

To register, students must visit http://www.columbiastate.edu/CommunityServiceSaturday no later than noon on Wednesday, July 8. Participants may select which campus event they will attend.

Students will check in at their chosen campus between 8:30 - 9:30 a.m., where they will receive a packet that includes instructions and directions to assigned community service agencies, along with a bottle of water, a snack and a meal voucher.

For questions or more information, please contact Linda Boshers at (931) 540-2520 or lboshers@ColumbiaState.edu. Columbia State campuses are located at the addresses below.

Columbia Campus
Waymon L. Hickman Building Lobby
1665 Hampshire Pike, Columbia, 38401

Clifton Campus
795 Main Street, Clifton, 38425

Lawrence County Campus
620 Springer Road, Lawrenceburg, 38464

Lewisburg Campus
980 Ellington Parkway, Lewisburg, 37091

Williamson Campus
104 Claude Yates Drive, Franklin, 37064

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit www.columbiastate.edu.

Tennessee's Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at tncommunitycolleges.org.