Jan 17, 2015

Columbia State Kicks Off Beam Tour

Photo Caption: Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State Community College president, signs the final beam that will be placed atop the student services and administration building at the new Williamson Campus, marking the highest point of the new campus.

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - Jan. 17, 2015) - - -
Columbia State Community College kicked off a beam signing tour Monday, Jan. 12 during the spring convocation at the Columbia Campus. The beam will mark the highest point of the new Williamson Campus.

"The beam will travel around Williamson County, as well as Columbia, collecting signatures from faculty, staff, students, and government, business and community leaders," said Bethany Lay, Columbia State's executive for advancement. "The various groups are representative of people who helped make this possible and represents the future and those who will be impacted by the new campus."

The beam will be at the current Williamson Campus Tuesday and Wednesday, Jan. 20-21. Everyone is invited to stop by and add their signature to the beam between 7:45 a.m. and 4:15 p.m.

A traditional topping out ceremony will take place in mid-February when the final beam will be hoisted and placed atop the student services and administration building at the new campus.

The current Williamson Campus is at 104 Claude Yates Drive in Franklin.

The 36-acre property for the new Williamson Campus, located at 1228 Liberty Pike in Franklin, was purchased in 2011. Phase I of the new campus will accommodate approximately 2,200 students and will consist of an arts and humanities building; a science and technology building; and a student services and administration building.

Photo Caption: Instructor of emergency medical technology, Eric McCullough signs the beam during its tour kickoff that began at the Columbia Campus.

Photo Caption:
Dale Hobbs, Columbia State instructor of mathematics, adds his signature to the beam during Columbia State's spring convocation.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit www.columbiastate.edu.

Tennessee's Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at tncommunitycolleges.org.

# # #