Dec 17, 2014

Support Staff Fundraiser Provides Scholarship Opportunity

Matthew receiving scholarship
Pictured, left to right: Melanie Hartsfield, support staff council chair; and Matthew Hall, scholarship recipient.

Jennifer accepts scholarship
Pictured, left to right: Melanie Hartsfield, support staff council chair; and Jennifer Stewart, scholarship recipient.

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - Dec. 17, 2014) - The Columbia State Community College Support Staff's "Buck for a Buck" fall fundraiser provided scholarships for students, Jennifer Stewart and Matthew Hall.

During the month of November, faculty, staff and students had the opportunity to purchase a "buck for a buck" which went towards the scholarships. A paper "buck" was then placed on a tree in the cafeteria, giving everyone the chance to monitor the progress.

"The support staff usually does one annual fundraiser," said Melanie Hartsfield, support staff council chair. "In the past, it has always been a chili luncheon. This year, the council decided to go with two fundraisers instead of one. We will be doing another one in the spring."

This year's fundraiser raised $400. Currently attending students with at least a 2.0 GPA as well as a Free Application for Federal Student Aid on file could apply for the scholarship by writing an essay explaining why they would like to be awarded a scholarship.

Eleven students submitted scholarship essays which were then judged by the support staff council members who chose this year's winners.

"We were looking for essays that expressed the writer's authenticity," one council member said. "We chose those essays that were well-written and reflected the teachings here at Columbia State."

Jennifer Stewart, a Hickman County resident, is a sophomore psychology major. Her anticipated graduation date is May 2016. Matthew Hall, a Lawrence County resident, is a freshman art major. His anticipated graduation date is May 2017.

Both students were appreciative of the scholarship and will put the money to good use.

Columbia State's nine-county service area includes Giles, Hickman, Lawrence, Lewis, Marshall, Maury, Perry, Wayne and Williamson Counties.