Jan 17, 2014

Students Earn Academic Honors, Named To Fall 2013 President’s And Dean’s Lists

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - Jan. 17, 2014) - - - Columbia State Community College students earned academic honors and were named to the president's list and dean's list for the fall 2013 semester.

"Being named to the president's list is a significant accomplishment," said Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State president. "By effectively balancing school, work and family life, these students are preparing themselves to be successful in their future careers. Achieving this level of academic performance shows their commitment and dedication, and I have no doubts they will successful in future endeavors."

"Students who earn dean's list status have shown a high level of commitment to their education," said Dr. Margaret D. Smith, the executive vice president and provost for academic affairs and student programs and services. "As they move forward in their education and their careers, the students who have achieved academic honors are positioned to be successful in anything they do."

To qualify for the president's list, students must earn 15 credit hours for the semester with a grade point average of 3.90 - 4.00. To qualify for the dean's list, students must earn 12 or more credit hours for the semester with a GPA of 3.50 or higher.

The following students were named to the fall 2013 president's list:

Davidson County
Summer Graves, Nashville and John Wallace, Nashville

Hickman County
Shaun Crist, Nunnelly

Lawrence County

Jason Clark, Summertown; Katherine Pack, Loretto; Regina Prestage, Iron City; Peyton Russ, Westpoint; and April Smith, Lawrenceburg.

Lewis County

Michael Greene, Hohenwald and Manuel Lagos, Hohenwald

Marshall County

Aspen Wiles, Lewisburg

Maury County

Carsha Bowen, Spring Hill; Samantha Brinegar, Columbia; Hannah Bryant, Mt. Pleasant; Kathryn Bryant, Columbia; Quidreannah Cothran, Columbia; Rebecca Dale, Mt. Pleasant; Iordanis Ekimogloy, Columbia; Lindsey Griffith, Spring Hill; Mackenzie Guthrie, Columbia; Briana Hoffman, Spring Hill; Lydia Michel, Columbia; Justin Potts, Columbia; Julian Rinehart, Spring Hill; Kyle Ryan, Columbia; and Brittney Shell, Columbia.

Sumner County

Sed Lanas, Hendersonville

Wayne County

Zachary Mathis, Waynesboro and Shanna Wilson, Cypress Inn

Williamson County

Wesley Atnip, Brentwood; Rebecca Bennett, Franklin; Abigail Meek, Thompson's Station; Ryan Moeller, Franklin; Stefan Nentwig, Franklin; Eric Nilsen, Franklin; Mattie Pickard, Franklin; David Rapley, Brentwood; Timothy Seidl, Spring Hill; Nathan Swift, Franklin; Bradley Turner, Franklin; Travis Vickers, Arrington; and Kara Wessels, Spring Hill.

Wilson County

John Hitchcock, Lebanon

Click here to see the full list of more than 400 students on the dean's list.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, the sixth largest higher education system in the nation. For more information, please visit www.columbiastate.edu.

Tennessee's Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at tncommunitycolleges.org.

# # #