Dec 23, 2013

Columbia State Nursing Graduates Pinned

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - Dec. 23, 2013) - - -
Fifty-two Columbia State Community College nursing graduates were honored Friday, Dec. 13 in a pinning ceremony held in the W.J. "Billy" Webster Athletic Center at the Columbia campus.

"The December 2013 nursing graduates are a group of talented, creative individuals that will bring much to the profession of nursing," said Barbara Blum, Columbia State nursing program director. "They have demonstrated the 'art and science' of nursing that blends compassion with the knowledge necessary to be effective health care providers."

Nursing graduates must complete four semesters at Columbia State, as well as ten credit hours of clinical instruction in order to earn an Associate of Applied Science degree in nursing. Graduates must next pass the National Council Licensure Examination to earn licensure in order to practice as a registered nurse.

Columbia State's nursing program has a competitive admission process with applicants admitted twice per year. Nursing students are trained to provide direct patient care in various areas including medical, surgical, pediatrics and more. Graduates will work in hospitals, long-term care facilities, clinics, schools and home health care settings. Registered nurse graduates at Columbia State also have numerous options for affordable and convenient pursuit of the BSN.

Columbia State has a "3 + 1" partnership with Middle Tennessee State University which offers RNs the opportunity to complete extra general education course work at Columbia State and a year of advanced nursing through MTSU and earn the Bachelor of Science degree in nursing.

The Columbia State nursing program is committed to excellence in nursing education. The program has full approval from the Tennessee Board of Nursing and is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing. Students admitted to the nursing program at Columbia State demonstrate excellent completion rates, first-attempt board exam success, and in-field employment rates.

For more information about applying to the program, contact Blum at (931) 540-2609 or, or visit

Photo Caption:
The fall 2013 nursing graduates include residents of Cheatham, Davidson, Giles, Hickman, Lawrence, Marshall, Maury, Perry, Wayne and Williamson Counties.

Cheatham County: Kim Longworth

Davidson County: Matthew Barrios, Colleen Conway, Jeffrey Cunningham, Renee Dansby, Heather Ellis, Shannon McCrary, Elizabeth Vernon and ShaSheena Woods

Giles County: Nicole Jones

Hickman County: Melissa Kennamore

Lawrence County: Tequella Clanton, Tisha Lopp, Lynsey Tipper, Belinda White and Grace White

Marshall County: Silvia Romero and Melinda Wray

Maury County: Kyle Dickall, Diana Ethridge, Jennifer Evans, Amber Frizzell, Shandra Hinson, Laura Isbell, Joseph Jacob, Elizabeth Knudson, Jeannie Leigh, Leslie Pardue, Olivia Richardson and Yaniz Seeley

Perry County: Leanne Warren

Wayne County: Jessica Hammack

Williamson County: Christi Baker, Alan Bateman, Nathan Bierman, Christy Blackwell, Eric Bradford, Bryson Connelly, Lora Conrad, Frances Corcoran, Amy Dillbeck, Michelle Emery, Kimberly Flowers, Shelly Hughes, Kristie Kendall, Cana MacKrell, Chelsea Marquand, Carrie Pomeroy, Kimberly Savage, Claudia Thompson, Phillip Vaughan and Joanna Walker

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, the sixth largest higher education system in the nation. For more information, please visit

Tennessee's Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at

# # #