Oct 03, 2013

Colleen Conway Named Frank Lanza Memorial Scholar

Colleen Conway

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - Oct. 2, 2013)
- - - Columbia State Community College nursing student and president of Phi Theta Kappa's Beta Kappa Theta chapter, Colleen Conway is one of only 20 nationwide recipients of the 2013 Frank Lanza Memorial Scholarship.

"Colleen is very active in campus activities and organizations," said Dr. Janet Smith, Columbia State president. "She is well-deserving of this scholarship. She is committed to her education and will be successful in achieving her goals."

In addition to her role in PTK, Conway is also the Student Government Association vice president, as well as a member of the President's Leadership Society and the Student Nursing Association. The Nashville resident is a graduate of Hillsboro High School. She also finds time to foster pets through Now I'm Home Animal Rescue, a non-profit organization that helps special needs animals.

"I love Columbia State, and I try to participate in as many activities and student organizations as possible," Conway said. "I'm honored that I was chosen. I wouldn't have made it this semester without it."

Conway's plans include graduating in December and transferring to Vanderbilt University in August of next year. She hopes to complete her master of science in nursing through a bridge program designed for nursing students who have completed their associate of science in nursing degree. Her goal is to become a geriatric nurse practitioner.

The Frank Lanza Memorial Scholarship is named in honor of Frank Lanza, founder of L-3 Communications, a global aerospace and defense company. In honor of Lanza's visionary business leadership and generous commitment to charitable causes, Lou Oberndorf, founder and retired chairman of Medical Education Technologies, Inc., initiated the endowment of the Frank Lanza Memorial Scholarship, which was funded by L-3 Communications, METI (now CAE Healthcare), the American Association of Community Colleges, and PTK Honor Society.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, the sixth largest higher education system in the nation. For more information, please visit www.ColumbiaState.edu.