Sep 25, 2013

Breakfast Rotary Donates To Scholarship Fund

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - Sept. 23, 2013) - - - On Sept. 17, the Columbia State Community College Foundation was presented a $1,000 scholarship donation check from the Columbia Breakfast Rotary Club.

"The Breakfast Rotary Club has had a long-standing commitment to supporting higher education and Columbia State," said Dr. Janet F. Smith, president of Columbia State. "We appreciate their continuous work to provide scholarships to our students which assists them in obtaining their degree."

The foundation awards the scholarship each year to a current full-time student in good standing who is a Maury County high school graduate and meets the scholarship requirements. The recipient of the 2013 scholarship is Cameron T. Hargrove, biology major from Culleoka.

The Columbia Breakfast Rotary Club is an organization of business, professional and community leaders who take an active role in serving their community. This scholarship will increase the opportunity for a local student to advance his or education bringing reward not only to the student but also to the community.

Donations from Breakfast Rotary
Photo Caption: Jimmy Dugger, president of the Columbia Breakfast Rotary Club, presented the check to Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State Community College president and Bethany Lay, executive for advancement at Columbia State. Pictured, left to right, Lay, Dugger and Smith.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, the sixth largest higher education system in the nation. For more information, please visit