Sep 18, 2013

Columbia State Receives Scholarship Donation from WOW

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - Sept. 18, 2013) - - - The Columbia State Community College Foundation accepted a $1,000 scholarship donation check Sept. 17 from the Maury County Chamber and Economic Alliance Women of Wisdom group.

"Columbia State is pleased to accept this donation," said Dr. Janet F. Smith, president of Columbia State. "We truly appreciate all the support we receive from our community and community leaders as we work together to provide educational opportunities for students."

Kara Huckaby, director of the chamber, said that WOW is proud to support education in Maury County. She explained that the members donated their own jewelry, purses and accessories to help raise the money through a boutique sale they held at the chamber in August.

"Our goal is provide networking for working women in Maury County, provide professional development among ourselves, and to support our community," Huckaby pointed out. "We are excited to begin what we hope is a lasting relationship with Columbia State and the support of higher education for Maury County."

The guest speaker for the luncheon was Mandy Carter-Lowe, associate professor of biology at Columbia State. Carter-Lowe spoke about the importance of getting girls more involved in science, technology, engineering and math-related careers.

The Columbia State Foundation encourages friends, alumni, economic partners and others to invest their time and resources toward the improvement of education at Columbia State and making higher education accessible to students. Scholarships and support of programs are made possible through these partnerships.

The scholarship check was presented at the September WOW luncheon.
Photo Caption: The scholarship check was presented at the September WOW luncheon. Pictured left to right: Judy Musgrave and Jennifer Frazier, WOW Steering Committee members; Kara Huckaby, Maury County Chamber director; Gail Ferguson, WOW Steering Committee chairperson; Dr. Janet Smith, president of Columbia State Community College; Bethany Lay, executive for advancement; and Roma Powis, WOW Steering Committee member.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, the sixth largest higher education system in the nation. For more information, please visit