May 31, 2013

2013 Alumnus Of The Year Nominations Open

Photo Caption: Tony Ricketts, a 1982 graduate of Columbia State Community College, received the 2012 Alumnus of the Year award. Pictured from left to right: Gina Eason of People's Bank in Clifton; Teresa Ricketts; Tony Ricketts; Janet Smith, Ph.D., Columbia State president; Stephen Milligan, Clifton campus director; and Bethany Lay, executive director of the Columbia State Foundation.

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - Feb. 22, 2013) - - -
Since 1985, Columbia State Community College has honored outstanding alumni that have contributed to career, community and the college. The Alumnus of the Year award is a chance to honor and acknowledge these accomplishments.

"Our alumni have made significant achievements and are loyal supporters of Columbia State," said Molly Cochran, director of alumni relations and community events. "The Alumnus of the Year award is our opportunity to celebrate these great alumni."

Ideal candidates should demonstrate public leadership and service to the college community, as well as personal and professional achievement. Anyone can nominate a Columbia State graduate, and all nominees must be notified in advance by the nominator.

Nominations are due no later than Friday, March 29, and the winner will be recognized at the foundation board meeting in June.

The nomination form is available online at For details and other information, please contact the alumni relations office at (931) 540-2554.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, the sixth largest higher education system in the nation. For more information, please visit