Feb 05, 2013

Phi Theta Kappa Students Honor Faculty Member

Students Honored and New Members Inducted Into Phi Theta Kappa

Columbia State Community College's Beta Kappa Theta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa held an induction ceremony on Sunday, October 11 in the Ledbetter Auditorium on the Columbia Campus. During the ceremony, Columbia State associate professor of English, Beverly Mitchell, received a Faculty Appreciation Award.

"This is the third year they've given this award, and I think Ms. Mitchell is a great example because she exemplifies the qualities we are trying to honor," said Lacy Benns-Owens, associate professor of speech at Columbia State.

Members of Beta Kappa Theta submitted nominations for the award. They then voted on the nominees based on specific qualifications. "I am incredibly honored. Being chosen by students means more than anything," said Mitchell.

To qualify for the Faculty Appreciation Award, nominees must meet the following criteria:

• They must be a full-time faculty member and have been employed by Columbia State Community College for at least three years.
• They must present course material in an interesting and stimulating manner.
• They must provide pertinent and timely reliable information relative to the topic at hand.
• They must demonstrate sensitivity, respect with regards to student inquiry and discussion both in and out of the classroom.
• They must engage in innovative teaching techniques that promote learning.
• They must successfully encourage students to think imaginatively, critically, and independently.
• They must guide and mentor students in making successful life and career choices.
• They must promote love of learning that contributes to the likelihood that all students will continue their education.
• They must be involved in the community beyond Columbia State Community College.

Mitchell, who has been teaching at Columbia State since 1990, teaches classes such as Developmental Writing, English Composition, and Literature. She has directed numerous plays at Columbia State Community College and is heavily involved in the Maury County Arts Guild.

Hannah Holman, a Columbia State student and outstanding Beta Kappa Theta member, received a special recognition award. "Hannah graduates in December so we wanted to take the opportunity to recognize all she's done," said Benns-Owens. "She's been a member we can always count on to help with projects, attend meetings, and go to the Regional meetings we have each year. She's been a big part of our success over the last year."

New members were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa at the end of the ceremony.

"Being invited to join Phi Theta Kappa is a distinguished honor. It really is, because the invitation not only recognizes academic excellence but membership provides the opportunity to express this excellence through service to the college and the larger community," said De'Marcus Jackson during a speech at the induction ceremony. Jackson is an instructor of psychology at Columbia State.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international honors society for two-year schools. Membership into Phi Theta Kappa is limited to roughly the top 10 percent of students based on academic achievements. To learn more about Phi Theta Kappa visit the website at www.columbiastate.edu/ptk.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, the sixth largest higher education system in the nation. For more information, please visit www.columbiastate.edu.