Feb 05, 2013

Lynne Williams Elected Alumni Association President

Lynne Williams Elected
Alumni Association President

Lynne Williams, a 1974 graduate of Columbia State Community College, was elected the new president of the Alumni Association at the annual spring meeting in April 2009.

Williams, a native of Centerville, Tennessee, went on to attend the University of Tennessee in Nashville where she studied communications and public relations. She has served the Tennessee Department of Agriculture for the past 24 years. She currently works in market development as the fair administrator, a position she has held for 13 years. Williams also worked for the Tennessee Military Department for three years and for the Governor's office for one year. She has been a member of the Columbia State Community College Alumni Board since 2005.

Shane Petty was named the new vice president and Sara Fralix the new secretary.

Petty, a 1986 Columbia State graduate, is the chief ranger for Tennessee State Parks. Following Columbia State, he attended school at Middle Tennessee State University, Tennessee Law Enforcement Academy and FBI Law Enforcement Academy. He was also named Columbia State's Alumnus of the Year in 2006. Petty resides in Chapel Hill. Tennessee.

Fralix, a Pulaski resident, is a member of the first graduating class at Columbia State Community College. She was employed by Columbia State from 1968 until 2008 when she retired as executive assistant to the president of the college.

Election of Alumni Association officers takes place every other year at the annual spring meeting. Fifteen days prior to the meeting, nominations are accepted for each vacant position. During the meeting officers are elected by a majority vote of present members. The officers will serve a two-year term.