Feb 05, 2013

Columbia State Honors Employees

President's Medal Awarded to Aubrey Flagg

Columbia State Community College honored employees at the 12th annual Employees' Honors and Awards Convocation on Friday, May 1, 2009. Aubrey Flagg, associate professor of geography, received the President's Medal - the highest award bestowed upon an employee of Columbia State. The 2008-2009 constituency winners are Victoria Gay, Distinguished Faculty Award, Nancy Bass, Outstanding Professional Staff Award and Linda Boshers, Outstanding Support Staff Award.

Employees from around the college and community members had the following to say about Flagg:

"We feel there is no one with more pride, love and dedication for Columbia State Community College and its mission than Aubrey Flagg. For more than 35 years, Aubrey's life has centered on serving Columbia State and its students. At all levels, from personal to academic, he far exceeds the normal expectations of a college professor."

"One of Aubrey's greatest strengths is engaging people, especially students. He works every day to try and help every single student he meets, to recognize their potential and the gifts education can bring to their life…He has an amazing ability to reach a wide variety of people of all ages and cultures - and you never know if he's going to leave them laughing, crying or both, but you know he's touched their hearts. He is a wonderful role model of hope and possibility - for education and for life."

"Aubrey throws all of his energies into whatever he does - he goes at life 110%. He is a master storyteller and speaker - and he is inspirational in his love for the students and the College.

Susan Cothron, account clerk, was honored for her 40-years of service to the college. Honored for 35-years of service to the college was Librarian Carolyn Bayless. Mary Kirby, technician, veterinary technology and Karen Siska, professor of education were honored for 30-years of service to the college. Phillip Matlock, associate professor of education and developmental studies and Susan Williford, associate professor of mathematics were honored for 25-years of service to the college.

Receiving 20-year service awards are Sandra Serkownek, division chair for business and technology and associate professor of industrial technology; Ricky Polk, custodian; Lillian Hayes, custodial lead worker, Lawrence County Campus; Chiquita Bullock, academic advisor; and Susanna Holmes, associate professor of English.

Receiving 15-year service awards are Meredeth McCoy, instructor of mathematics; Jeff Hardin, associate professor of English; and Helen McGrew, maintenance mechanic.

Receiving 10-year service awards are front row: Paul Jennings, vice president of planning and development; Kathy Massey, technician, veterinary technology; Nancy Hardy, secretary II, humanities division; Pat Hickman, security guard; Sandy Thurston, administrative assistant, planning and development; Roger Major, clinical director and assistant professor of respiratory care; and Lloyd Tomlin, computer lab technician.

Receiving five-year service awards are (front row left): Debbora Estes, custodian; Laurie Pewitt, assistant professor of computer information systems; Linda Horner, division chair, science and math and professor of mathematics; Emily Siciensky, associate vice president for information technology; Jacklyn Egolf, librarian; Judy Sanders, assistant professor of nursing (back row left): Ron Beck, economic and community development executive director; Daniel Johnson, assistant professor of speech; Michael Darrell, assistant professor of mathematics, Spence Dowlen, assistant professor of biology; and Brent Fleming, database administrator.