Oct 19, 2020 | Featured , Foundation

Columbia State Welcomes New Foundation Board Members

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. – Oct. 19, 2020) - - - The Columbia State Community College Foundation is pleased to announce Kenny Boyd, Byron Davis, Rena Purdy, Donna Roberts, Pam Stephens, Susan Whitaker and Kurt Winstead as new Foundation board members.
“We welcome the individual talents and strengths these very service-minded professionals bring to the Foundation in support of Columbia State,” said Darlene Baxter, Columbia State foundation board chair.
Kenny Boyd, Maury Regional Health chief operating officer, has a strong understanding of the importance of Columbia State’s healthcare programs. He holds a bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of Louisville and a master’s degree from Webster University. He lives in Maury County with his wife, Naking, and their two children. Boyd is a member of Kiwanis Club, Maury Alliance Board of Directors and THA Center for Innovative Solutions.
Byron Davis is the branch manager for Peoples Bank. He resides in Wayne County and lives just a short distance from the campus in Clifton with his wife, Cindy, who has served as an adjunct faculty member at Columbia State. Before working at Peoples Bank, Davis attended the University of Tennessee, Martin and the Southeastern School of Banking. Davis is involved with several organizations including Clifton Rotary Club, Frank Hughes School Boosters, Wayne County Helping Hands, City of Clifton Parks and Recreation Board, and the Advisory Committee for Wayne County Schools.
Rena Purdy is the executive director of the Wayne County Joint Economic and Community Development Board. She resides in Wayne County with her husband, Jerry. Purdy earned an associate degree from Columbia State, a bachelor’s degree from the University of North Alabama and a certification as Tennessee Certified Economic Developer from the University of Tennessee. She is the past president of the Rotary Club of Waynesboro. Purdy inspires people with her own success story of being a non-traditional student going to college.
Donna Roberts resides in Marshall County with husband, Eddie. Roberts holds a bachelor’s degree in education from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. She is active in the community having served as president of Lewisburg Rotary and Assistant District Governor Rotary 6760, president of Marshall County Woman’s Club, president of Battle Ground Academy Parents’ Club, chair of the Marshall County Heart Walk and is a member of the Lewisburg Community Development Board. Roberts and husband Eddie are owners of Roberts Toyota and Saddle Creek Golf Course.  
Pam Stephens, a Williamson County native, lives in Franklin with her husband, Tim. She is a licensed funeral director and co-owner of Williamson Memorial Funeral Home and Cremation Services, Williamson Memorial Gardens, and Spring Hill Memorial Park Funeral Home and Cremation Services. Stephens has previously held several leadership positions in both professional and community organizations including president of the Tennessee Funeral Directors Association, president of the Cemetery Association of Tennessee, president of the Southern Cemetery and Funeral Association, board director with the Williamson County-Franklin Chamber of Commerce, and board director for Cumberland Bank and Franklin Synergy Bank. Stephens currently serves on the Legislative Committee for the Tennessee Funeral Directors Association and on the Williamson Medical Foundation Board. She is a member of Downtown Franklin Rotary Club.
Susan Whitaker is the founding principal of Whitaker Travel and Tourism Strategies. She resides in Williamson County  with her husband, Ken. Whitaker earned a bachelor’s degree from the Northwestern University School of Communications.Whitaker served on the cabinets of Governor Bredesen and Govern Haslam as Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Tourist Development. Whitaker is a member of the Heritage Foundation of Williamson County Board of Directors; University of Tennessee – Knoxville Retail, Hospitality, and Tourism Management College of Education Advisory Board; and American Battlefield Trust Board of Trustees in Washington D.C.
Kurt Winstead resides in Williamson County with his wife, Beth. He is an attorney/partner with Rudy Winstead Turner PLLC. Winstead holds a bachelor’s degree from Centre College, a juris doctor degree from the University of Richmond and a master’s degree from U.S. Army War College. Winstead has a wealth of experience in his community where he serves as the Leadership Middle Tennessee Board of Directors chair and is involved with Franklin Tomorrow Board of Directors, Industrial Development Board of Williamson County, and the Tennessee Arts Commission (formerly). He is the past chair of Battle Ground Academy. Winstead is a member of the Rotary Club Franklin Noon, Williamson Inc., Heritage Foundation of Williamson County, National Guard Associations of Tennessee and the U.S., and V.F.W. Post 9543. In addition to his organization involvement, Winstead is a graduate of Leadership Tennessee, Leadership Middle Tennessee and Leadership Franklin. Winstead has been a member of the National Guard for over 30 years and has served overseas. He served as senior staff judge advocate for Tennessee’s Joint Force Headquarters from 2009 to 2017 before being promoted to Brigadier General in 2017. He currently serves as director of the Joint Staff for the Tennessee National Guard.
Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State president, emphasized that “the partnership between the Foundation and the college is a bridge for building connections with individuals and organizations.”
Columbia State Foundation board members serve three-year terms and represent leaders from across the nine-county service area. The Foundation’s mission is to support and partner with Columbia State to positively impact our communities and student success through the maintenance and enhancement of resources. This is achieved by excellence in relationship building, fundraising and investment management.