Jul 11, 2016

Columbia State Highlights 14 Student-Athletes

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - June 24, 2016) - - - Columbia State Community College recently highlighted 14 players that will be continuing their athletic careers at 4-year colleges or universities.

The student-athletes, coming from Columbia State's softball, baseball and basketball programs, have all reached agreements with 4-year universities.

"We are extremely proud of our student-athletes," said Winston Neal, Columbia State men's basketball coach. "One of our main goals is to help our young men and women grow athletically, as well as in the classroom. To have this many transferring to 4-year schools to continue their playing careers is truly a testament to their efforts here."

While many of the Columbia State student-athletes still remain undecided on where their athletic careers will continue, several, such as baseball player, Ryan Kemp, have already made their decision.

"Ryan has been a pleasure to coach the past two years," said Mike Corn, head baseball coach. "He'll be joining Middle Tennessee State University's baseball team after graduating Cum Laude from Columbia State."

Joining Kemp at MTSU will be softball pitcher Gretchen Greer.

"Gretchen will be an asset for the MTSU pitching staff," said Johnny Littrell, Columbia State's athletic director. "She is a very focused and hardworking player that is always finding ways to improve her game."

Columbia State Athletes
Photo Caption:
Pictured, left to right, first row: Marquise Williams - Milledgeville, Georgia (Mississippi Valley State University), Andrew Smith - Johnson City (Florida A&M University), Jaylon Grace - Norcross, Georgia (Milligan College), Artavius Love -Douglasville, Georgia, Kara Brewer - Leoma, Gretchen Greer - Collinwood (Middle Tennessee State University) and Corey Herndon - Marion, Arkansas (Auburn University). Second row: Braxton Bonds - Nashville (Houston Baptist University), Adrian Hicks -Norcross, Georgia (University of Albany), Avery Patterson Marietta, Georgia (Alcorn State University), Taylor McKinney - Dyer (Bethel University), Mike James - Brentwood (University of New Orleans), Austin Reynolds - Murfreesboro (Belmont University) and Ryan Kemp - Hendersonville (MTSU).

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit www.ColumbiaState.edu.

Tennessee's Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at tncommunitycolleges.org.

# # #