Aug 08, 2014

Math Professor Appointed President of TMATYC

Photo Caption: Michael Darrell began his tenure at Columbia State in 2004. He earned Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees in mathematics from Middle Tennessee State University.

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - Aug. 8, 2014) - - - Michael Darrell, assistant professor of mathematics at Columbia State Community College, has been appointed president of the Tennessee Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges. The state chapter is an affiliate of the American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges, the organization that serves all community college math professors.

At regular conferences and meetings, members share information on best practices in their field, new trends in instruction, and other issues that affect college level math courses.

Darrell's interest in learning about other math departments and approaches led him to being involved in the association. In 2008, he coordinated the association's state convention at Columbia State's Columbia campus.

"I've been active in several areas with the national organization," Darrell said. "That led me to become active at the state level."

His two-year tenure as president will focus on promoting the organization, coordinating its yearly conference, and working with other state presidents.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit

Tennessee's Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at

# # #