Tennessee Promise Community Service 

TN Promise students, we at Columbia State are thrilled that you have chosen to continue your education with us.  In order to remain eligible for the scholarship, one requirement is to complete eight hours of community service prior to each semester of enrollment. 

Students must report their 8 hours of community service to their assigned mentoring agency prior to 11:59 p.m. for each semester the student is eligible for TN Promise funding.

Fall Term—July 1

Spring Term—December 1

Summer Term—April 1

Students that live in Decatur, Henderson, Perry, or Unicoi counties will need to submit their hours to The Ayers Foundation: http://www.ayersscholars.org/tn-promise/

Students that live in Chester, Crockett, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Hardeman, Haywood, or Tipton counties will need to submit their hours to REDI: http://swtdd.org/redi-community-service-form.  

Students from ALL other counties will need to submit their hours to TN Achieves: https://tnachieves.org/community-service/.   

What counts as community service?  

Community service is time contributed to a non-profit or public service organization.  The community should be benefiting from the work you do.  Students are also encouraged to complete their community service by job shadowing in their career field of interest to gain experience in that profession.  Columbia State has partnered with agencies to assist our students with this requirement.  Students may also visit their mentoring agency website to view additional opportunities.  Watch your Columbia State email and the Charger Scene weekly email blast for opportunities and contact information for events. Faculty also often have a service-learning requirement as part of a course which may fulfill your community service hours. 

A Great Place To Start. Invest in Columbia State.

1665 Hampshire Pike, Columbia TN 38401 | 931-540-2722
Content © 1996-2013 Columbia State - All Rights Reserved. Columbia State Community College, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.