Columbia State Honors Respiratory Care Graduates

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. – May 16, 2018) - - Columbia State Community College recognized 17 respiratory care graduates during its annual pinning ceremony May 3.

Students who are trained to work as respiratory therapists provide assessment, diagnostic evaluation, treatment and care for patients with breathing disorders. Upon completion of the program, graduates have become experts in artificial ventilation, resuscitation and airway management.

The graduates are pursuing employment at long-term care facilities, home care agencies and area hospitals, such as Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Maury Regional Medical Center, Williamson Medical Center, Saint Thomas West Hospital and Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital.                                                                  

“Many of the students have job commitments before graduation,” said R. David Johnson, director and associate professor of the respiratory care program. “These students work hard to prepare for their new careers.”

Columbia State’s respiratory care program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care. All students participate in supervised, hands-on care in a variety of area healthcare settings and receive adult, pediatric and neonatal training.

“For the third consecutive year, Columbia State's respiratory care program is among a select group recognized by the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC) for the Distinguished RRT Credentialing Success Award,” said Dr. Kae Fleming, dean of the Health Sciences Division and professor of radiologic technology. “This distinction honors a history of exceptional first-attempt credentialing exam success, program completion rates and positive job placement statistics. The respiratory care class of 2018 becomes part of Columbia State’s proud tradition of excellence in preparing healthcare professionals to serve patients and communities across the region.”

For more information about applying to the respiratory care program, visit

2018 Respiratory Care Grads
Photo Caption:
(Front, left to right): Tomika Blair, Taylor Peterson, Kassidy Price, Ashlea Hurst, Katelyn Haywood, Lauren Gilliam, Laarni Colin Iniesta and Molly Leonard. (Back, left to right): Nickie Mabery, Amber Kenyon, Lydia Garner, Stephanie Flatt, Breanna Tankersley, Jamie Fanning, Julianna Jones and Erica Whitaker.

Stephanie Flatt
Photo Caption: Hardin County
: Stephanie Flatt

Ashlea Hurst
Photo Caption: Humphreys County
: Ashlea Hurst

Laarni Colin Iniesta
Photo Caption: Hickman County
: Laarni Colin Iniesta

Lydia Garner, Breanna Tankersley and Kassidy Price.
Photo Caption:
Lawrence County: (Left to right): Lydia Garner, Breanna Tankersley and Kassidy Price.

Taylor Peterson
Photo Caption: Marshall County
: Taylor Peterson 

Tomika Blair, Julianna Jones, Nickie Mabery, Lauren Gilliam, Katelyn Haywood and Erica Whitaker.
Photo Caption: Maury County:
(Left to right): Tomika Blair, Julianna Jones, Nickie Mabery, Lauren Gilliam, Katelyn Haywood and Erica Whitaker.

Molly Leonard
Photo Caption: Rutherford County
: Molly Leonard

Jamie Fanning
Photo Caption:
Williamson County: Jamie Fanning

Amber Kenyon
Photo Caption: Wilson County:
Amber Kenyon

 # # #

A Great Place To Start. Invest in Columbia State.

1665 Hampshire Pike, Columbia TN 38401 | 931-540-2722
Content © 1996-2013 Columbia State - All Rights Reserved. Columbia State Community College, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.