Columbia State Foundation Announces Chancellor's Award Recipient

(Franklin, Tenn. – July 18, 2016) - - - Dr. Ken Moore, Franklin mayor and Columbia State board and Foundation board member, was recently honored as the recipient of the 2016 Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropy.

Recognized for his continued and loyal support for the Tennessee Board of Regents, Columbia State and higher education in Tennessee, David Gregory, chancellor of the TBR, presented the award to Moore at the Grand Opening of Columbia State’s new Williamson Campus.

“Dr. Moore’s vision and commitment to a better life for others, hard work and financial contributions, on behalf of Columbia State, will reap great benefits for students and the community well into the future,” said Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State president.”

Individuals who receive the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropy have given special assistance to at least one TBR college or university, and have exemplified outstanding volunteer efforts in raising money for the institution.

“I did not help the college to get an award,” Moore said. “I worked because of what the college does for students, giving them a chance to better themselves and their families.”

Moore’s dedication to the community and his passion for higher education has been vital to the expansion of Columbia State in Williamson County.

“I was truly touched by the honor and that it coincides with so much progress for the college,” Moore said.

Prior to becoming the 31st Mayor for the City of Franklin, Moore practiced orthopedic surgery in Columbia for 28 years. In addition, Moore has served as a member and president of several organizations, which include the Tennessee Orthopedic Society, the Tennessee Hand Society and the Clinical Orthopedic Society.

Chancellor Gregory, Dr. Ken Moore and Dr. Janet Smith
Photo Caption:
Pictured, left to right: David Gregory, Tennessee Board of Regents chancellor, Dr. Ken Moore, City of Franklin mayor; and Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State president .

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee’s first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit

Tennessee’s Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at

# # # 

A Great Place To Start. Invest in Columbia State.

1665 Hampshire Pike, Columbia TN 38401 | 931-540-2722
Content © 1996-2013 Columbia State - All Rights Reserved. Columbia State Community College, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.