medical personnel with child

Healthcare Programs

Center for Economic & Workforce Development, offers healthcare programs in

  • Phlebotomy Technician (CPT)
  • ECG/EKG Technician (CET)
  • Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA)
Economic & Workforce Development provides opportunities and individual student support to increase potential for more job opportunities, increased pay scale, and medical skills that are in high demand.

NHA Certification Testing will take place at the Columbia Main Campus Testing Center

General Prerequisites For All Courses:

  • High school diploma or equivalency, HiSET® (High School Equivalency Test) or GED® (General Educational Development) Exam.
  • Purchase of student-rate, HPSO liability insurance.

NHA Certification:
Each course prepares students for a certification exam accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) through National Healthcareer Association (CPT, CET, CCMA). Exam fees are incorporated into course pricing.

Class schedules are subject to change. For up-to-date schedules go to
For Information and Registration:
Call 931.540.2659 or email

Healthcare Courses

Certified Phlebotomy Technician (CPT)

The Phlebotomy Technician Certification program includes theory and hands-on instruction during a 48-hour, 9 week program, that includes clinicals.  Individuals interested in starting a career in the medical field, prospective client care technicians, current nurses, or those looking to develop skills may benefit from this program.  This certification program will assist students to prepare for a phlebotomy certification exam. To qualify for clinicals, a student must first pass a background check, drug screen, and other health screenings.

Certified Electrocardiogram Technician (CET)
ECG/EKG Technicians are one of the first people to assist patients experiencing cardiac symptoms. As a Certified ECG/EKG Technician (CET), you will operate machines that record the electrical activity of a patient’s heart. ECG/EKG rhythms provide important data for the diagnosis of heart conditions. ECG/EKG Technicians are a critical part of the patient care team found in physician offices, emergency rooms and hospital-based cardiology clinics.

Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA)
*Must complete both Phlebotomy Technician Course and ECG/EKG Technician Course (or equivalents) before taking the CCMA course. The Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA) is an unlicensed, multi-skilled healthcare practitioner who is competent in both clinical
and administrative procedures.
  • Respond to patient phone calls and requests for
  • medication refills or questions with medications.
  • Monitor and record vital signs - temperature, blood
  • pressure, pulse, and respiration rates.
  • Observe, record and report a patient’s physical, mental,
  • and emotional condition during primary assessment of
  • patient during office visit.
  • Electrocardiograms (EKGs), collecting blood
  • (phlebotomy) and other clinical tasks.
  • Moving patients, transferring patients to and from a bed
  • or wheelchair and assisting with walking.
  • Assisting doctors and nurses during examinations and treatments.

A Great Place To Start. Invest in Columbia State.

1665 Hampshire Pike, Columbia TN 38401 | 931-540-2722
Content © 1996-2013 Columbia State - All Rights Reserved. Columbia State Community College, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.